Ab/A-flat Minor | Relative, Parallel and Dominant keys

The A minor scale is a seven-note scale that starts on the note A and includes the notes B, C, D, E, F, and G. It is one of the natural minor scales, which means that it follows the pattern of whole and half steps that is characteristic of the minor scale. The scale formula for the A minor scale is W-H-W-W-W-W-W, where W represents a whole step (two half steps) and H represents a half step (one-half step). In the key of A minor, the chords that are typically used include A minor, B diminished, C major, D minor, E minor, F major, and G major.


Ab/A-flat Minor
Relative key C-flat major
Parallel key A-flat major
Dominant key E-flat minor
Subdominant D-flat minorC-sharp minor
Enharmonic G-sharp minor
Component pitches
A, B, C, D, E, F, G

To play the Ab/A-flat Minor scale, you will need to follow these steps:

  1. Identify the key signature for Ab Minor. This will include the flats needed to play the scale (in this case, 4 flats: Bb, Eb, Ab, and Db).
  2. Begin by playing the root note of the scale, which is Ab.
  3. Move up to the second note of the scale, which is Bb.
  4. Continue to the third note, Cb (or B, depending on your preference).
  5. Play the fourth note, Db.
  6. Move to the fifth note, Eb.
  7. Play the sixth note, Fb (or E, depending on your preference).
  8. Play the seventh note, Gb.
  9. Finally, return to the root note, Ab, to complete the scale.

Remember to use proper techniques when playing the scale, including proper hand positioning, finger placement, and proper posture. Practice regularly to improve your accuracy and speed.

Same Category Post  B Minor Scale On The Piano – Notes, Fingerings & More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *